ICC World Cup 2019: Shikhar Dhawan replacement India's concern before New Zealand clash

India are trailing in their head-to-head record against New Zealand with three wins out of seven games in the World Cup.

  1. India will be without the services of Shikhar Dhawan for Thursday's match vs New Zealand.
  2. India are trailing 3-4 against New Zealand in the head-to-head record in the World Cup.
  3. The last time these two teams met in the World Cup was in 2003 when India beat New Zealand.

Team India will be looking to get past the disappointment of losing Shikhar Dhawan in their World Cup 2019 campaign and start fresh as they face New Zealand in their next game at Trent Bridge in Nottingham on Thursday. India were beaten comprehensively by New Zealand in their first warm up match last month with Trent Boult destroying the famed Indian batting lineup. Coach Ravi Shastri and the rest of the support staff will have to find out ways of dealing with the New Zealand pacers and find answers for the batsmen to tackle the swing in Nottingham.

Read Also : ICC World Cup 2019: Australia vs Pakistan, Ausies walk into the game as slight favourites

Also, it will be interesting to see whom India include in place of Shikhar Dhawan. Either they can include Dinesh Karthik to strengthen their batting or they can go with either Ravindra Jadeja or Vijay Shankar, who give them a bowling option too. 
New Zealand's World Cup victories against India came in 1975, 1979, 1992, 1999 editions while India won twice in 1987 and once in 2003. India are ahead in the overall head-to-head record against the Kiwis in one-day internationals with 51 wins out of 101 meetings. New Zealand have 44 wins to their credit so far.

Read Also : Shikhar Dhawan ruled out of World Cup 2019 for 3 weeks due to a thumb injury 

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is yet to put in an official request for a replacement of Dhawan, Pant will be joining the team on Wednesday and will start training with the squad straightaway. The management wants Pant to be match ready if at all they need his services against New Zealand or later in the tournament.


India: Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Kedar Jadhav, Vijay Shankar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (capt), Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Tom Blundell (wk).