By Rohit Sindhu, Updated : Aug 07, 2020 13:03 IST
Prof Pradeep Kumar Joshi appointed as UPSC Chairman

On Friday President of India appointed Professor Pradeep Kumar Joshi as Chairman of the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). Prof Pradeep Kumar Joshi to succeed Arvind Saxena who joined UPSC in year 2015 and became Chairman in November 2018. On August 7, 2020 Arvind Saxena the former IAS Officer attained the age of 65 year and concludes his service as UPSC Chairman. Saxena was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Pradeep Kumar Joshi, the senior most member of the Commission, in 2018.

Professor Pradeep Kumar Joshi appointed as Chairman of UPSC on Friday, August 7, 2020. He is currently a member in the UPSC Commission. Professor will succeed Arvind Saxena who completes his term as Commission chairman on Friday, News Agency PTI tweeted. Joshi has been worked as Chairman in both Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh Public Service Commissions and joined the UPSC as a member in May 2015. Professor Joshi's tenure as the UPSC chairman will remain till May 12, 2021, or at the age of 65 Year.

The retiring UPSC Chairman Arvind Saxena assumed the UPSC office in November 2018. Saxena had also worked in Intelligence Agency RAW in year 1988.

Should Read- UPSC Civil Service 2019 Final Results: Explained

UPSC, is India's premier central recruiting agency and is responsible for appointments to and examinations for All India Services and Group A & Group B of Central services. Recently UPSC announced Civil Services Examination 2019 final result in which a total 823 candidates qualified the Examination. In CSE results Pradeep Singh from Sonipat, Haryana came out topper in the list.

UPSC makes appointment conducting Central level examinations for Group A & B services of Central Government. While Department of Personnel and Training is the central personnel agency in India, WP reads about UPSC.