IND vs NZ 1st Semi-Final of ICC World Cup 2019: Match will be resume today


  • Play was stopped after 46.1 overs in the first innings after New Zealand opted to bat
  • NZ had reached 211 for 5 with Ross Taylor batting on 67* and Tom Latham on 3*
  • Play will resume on Reserve Day (i.e. today)
       The first semi-final between India and New Zealand in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 has been postponed due to rain with New Zealand resumed at 211-5 in 46.1 overs in the first innings. New Zealand cricket team captain Kane Williamson had earlier made 67 after winning the toss, with Jasprit Bumrah (1-25 off 8 overs) leading a disciplined India bowling attack.

Rain has come back to haunt cricket fans in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 and that too in the first semi-final itself between India and New Zealand in Manchester. The match will resume on the reserve day.

The match will resume today if weather permitting and the New Zealand cricket team will continue with Ross Taylor (67*) and Tom Latham (3*) on strike. Indian cricket team pacers Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja and Yuzvendra Chahal had picked up a wicket each till that point for India. Taylor build their innings alongside with impressive Kane Williamson who also scored a half-century, salvaged a dismal start to the innings and the Kiwis have just 3.5 overs left to add to their score as much as possible. The game will continue today where it was resumed. New Zealand cricket team will complete their 50-over innings and Indian cricket team will then complete their 50-over innings, weather permitting. The match may be shortened as depend on the conditions.

Rain stopped play at just after 2 pm, but it was not until 4 hours and 21 minutes later that the umpires chose to call the game off for the day. If rain interrupts play again today, Duckworth-Lewis-Stern (DLS) may be used to give India a revised target. If a 20 overs per side match cannot be completed on Wednesday as well, India would go through to Sunday's final at Lord's on the basis of having finished first to New Zealand cricket team finished fourth in the 10-team group stage.
The tournament hosts England cricket team and defending champions Australian cricket team will contest the second semi-final at Edgbaston on Thursday, with that match able to continue on to Friday if a reserve day is required.

Playing XI's:
INDIA: Lokesh Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (c), Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah
NEW ZEALAND: Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wk), James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Trent Boult