By Rohit Sindhu, Updated : May 11, 2020 18:32 IST
Railway starts Passenger trains from Delhi ! Booking for Phase 1 begins

Indian Railways plans to gradually restart passenger train operations from 12th May, 2020, initially with 30 passenger trains connecting New Delhi with major stations across India. Booking in these trains has started from today at 4 pm onwards. On Sunday IRCTC and Ministry of Railways laid down the plan to start special trains from Delhi under Phase 1, with 15 trains from New Delhi. As per intimation Indian Railways has planned to gradually restart passenger train operations from 12th May, 2020, initially with 30 passanger trains, the green signal will be shown.

Plans underway to gradually restart passenger train services from May 12, initially with 30 passenger trains (30 return journeys), tweeted Indian Railways Minister Piyush Goyal.

Railway Starts Passanger Trains

These passenger trains will be run as special trains from New Delhi Station connecting 15 important cities of the country.
Railways is all set to resume passenger train operations from May 12 with 15 pairs of trains in phase 1, said by IRCTC. Booking of tickets for these special passanger trains from will start from Monday 4 pm onward. According to guidelines all passenger trains will be run with AC coaches only and with limited stoppages. The fare will be equivalent to the ticket fare that is charged for Rajdhani Train, said Ministry of Railways

State Govt has issued a GR (Government Resolution) for payment of ticket fares of stranded migrant labourers who want to return but don't have money. Maharashtra govt will bear the cost of train ticket for them from CM Relief Fund, Maharashtra Chief Minister's Office. Only 30 Passenger trains from New Delhi station to start from May 12, booking of tickets will be allowed from IRCTC website-

These trains are bound from-

  1. Delhi to Dibrugarh
  2. Delhi to Howrah
  3. Delhi to Patna
  4. Delhi to Agartala
  5. Delhi to Bilaspur,
  6. Delhi to Ranchi
  7. Delhi to Bhubaneswar
  8. Delhi to Secunderabad
  9. Delhi to Bengaluru
  10. Delhi to Chennai
  11. Delhi to Madgaon
  12. Delhi to Thiruvananthapuram
  13. Delhi to Mumbai Central
  14. Delhi to Ahmedabad and
  15. Delhi to Jammu Tawi.

Railway Starts passenger trains

However in its guidelines Indian Railways has made mandatory to wear face cover, undergo screening at departure and only asymptomatic passengers will be allowed on train, advisory issued by Railways.

Passanger Train Numbers with Enroute-

Railway Starts passenger trains

Should Read- PM Modi to chair VC with State CMs tomorrow

Railway Ticket Booking-  

Indian Railways will resume passenger train operations from tomorrow. According to Ministry of Indian Railways the Trains to be run from New Delhi; booking for reservation for these passenger trains  will start at 4pm on May 11 and will be available only on IRCTC website. Ticket booking counters at stations to remain closed; no counter tickets, including platform tickets, will be issued.

Railway is geared up for 300 Special Trains

Railway Minister urged all the states to give permission to the stranded migrants to travel back to their homes and ask them to expand the operations of special Shramik trains in order to ensure that they reach their homes. The Central government had passed an order to allow the movement of trains. However, the trains can run only if the states that have to send and receive the migrants agree for it.

PM Modi on Rail Services

As per the directions of Hon'ble PM Narendra Modi ji, Railways is fully geared up to run 300 Shramik Special trains every day at short notice since the last six days. I appeal to all the states to give permission to evacuate and bring back their stranded migrants so that we can get all of them back to their homes in the next 3-4 days itself, Railway Minister Piyush Goyal tweeted on Sunday.

A total of 366 special Shramik trains have been operationalized across the country out of which 287 had reached their destination and others are in their way, as of May 10. Around 3.5 lakh migrants have successfully reached their hometowns. The health minister requested the state governments to allow the migrants to go back to their homes. The health minister made this request after the home minister Amit Shah asked West  Bengal Chief Minister Mamta Banerjee to allow the trains coming from different states carrying migrant workers to reach the state.

The migrant workers had been constantly requesting the government to arrange for the travel facilities which would allow them to go back to their homes. The national transporter has a capacity to run around 300 trains per day ferrying around 20 lakh migrants in a maximum of five days.However, clearances from states are not forthcoming, especially from states like West Bengal and Rajasthan, which till now have accepted the least number of such trains despite being a significant source of migrant population, senior railway officials said.

📣 Follow at Twitter, Facebook, Instagram & Telegram. Stay updated for latest headlines.